Information on 2/50

Members may post in this forum, but anyone may read posts.

Moderators: Jim Sheppard, RJ_Smith

Information on 2/50

Postby ftapparo » Tue Dec 14, 2010 8:16 am

I realize that this is a forum for the 1/50, but I saw some comments on 2/50 and thought I would try to fill in the gaps.

I was an officer in the 2/50 Armored Rifle Battalion from June 1961 to November 1962 stationed at Ferris Barracks, Erlangen, Germany. The 2/50 ARB was part of Combat Command Bravo (CCB) and later 2nd Brigade, when the division format was changed in 1962 to the Reorganized Army Division (ROAD). The 2/50 ARB had been "Gyroscoped" to Germany in 1957 as part of the 4th Armored Divison headquartered at Cooke Barracks, Goeppingen. (In that Gyro, the 4th AD replaced the 8th Inf Div, which moved to the north in the facilities of the 2nd Armored Division that "Gyroed" to Ft. Hood, which had been the former location of the 4th AD.)

Commanders of 2/50 ARB during my tenure were LTC Lawrence Kearnin and LTC James Waldie. I was a platoon leader and executive officer in A Company, commanded by CPT Richard Schott (died in RVN) and CPT Patrick Lufburrow.

While I was in 2/50 some significant changes took place in addition to the reorganization of the division (which had minimal effect on the armored divisions, as they were never in the Pentomic (five battle group) format.) We switched our M-59 APCs for (gasoline powered) M-113s; our small arms changed from M-1s and .30 cal light machine guns to the 7.62 mm M-14 rifles and M-60 machine guns. The battalion also acquired an M-88 tank recovery vehicle which was diesel powered, the only diesel piece of equipment in the battalion. Also, our sister battalion on Ferris, 1/35 Armor, turned in their M-48 medium tanks and M-103 120 mm heavy tanks for M-60s.