Athletics in the military?

Members may post in this forum, but anyone may read posts.

Moderators: Jim Sheppard, RJ_Smith

Athletics in the military?

Postby OhioUPhDstudent » Sun May 08, 2011 2:08 am

Hello I am currently an international relations PhD student at Ohio University. I am currently researching a topic I hope to make my dissertation topic and I just wanted to see if anyone on here would be will to help me out. I am researching the role of athletics in the U.S. military after WWII. For instance there is a lot of scholarship on how athletics were used during WWI and WWII as a training tool or a way for soldiers to entertain themselves during training as well as a way to get their mind off of fighting while deployed. Some scholarship has even discovered POW baseball games in German camps and some games played between the Japanese and U.S. POW's.

I am curious if any Vietnam veterans can tell me if athletics were utilized in any of these same capacities during the Vietnam War or while in training. What part of the military was in charge of facilitating athletics for soldiers? Was there any athletic competitions while deployed in Vietnam, possibly any with the South Vietnamese or the French during the early years before the Americanization of the war? Or if anyone has any information on where I could go to find these answers or anything related to the role of athletics in the military. I am also interested to know if any veterans are familiar with the International Military Sports Council?

Thank you for time,

Shane
OhioUPhDstudent
New poster

Re: Athletics in the military?

Postby Bob Bihari » Mon May 09, 2011 12:57 pm